I'm Ready.

a blog by Christina Bradley

The Beauty of Nature

1 Comment

fall

East Rock Park – Photo by Xun Wang (http://www.xunwang.me/landscape/)

So, I had an amazing experience yesterday; one that completely changed my day. Yesterday was a beautiful fall day in New Haven. A perfect breeze with just enough sun that wearing shorts and a shirt was comfortable. Out of nowhere I decided to go on my first run at Yale this year and I am so thankful that I made that decision.

Living in a city, I often feel cooped up and claustrophobic. I try to take the time to appreciate the beautiful architecture around me (because believe me, there is no scarcity of that here) but on a beautiful fall day like yesterday, I long for nature. Nature affects us like nothing else can. It brings us back to our roots and makes us appreciate the simple things in life. It has the tendency of catching us at moments where we are just going though the motions of life. Seeing a bright red tree after walking out the the library. Being hit by beautiful rays of light that peek through the leaves as you rush home.

Yesterday, I was hit full force by the beauty of nature and at a time I was most longing for it. As I ran, I saw the beautiful colored trees around me releasing their leaves on the lawns of the houses I passed. Finally, I hit East Rock Park (which is a place I have heard of but have never taken the time to visit) and I was suddenly overwhelmed by the glimmering water and the amazing smells of fall. The force of this beauty caused me to stop and take a slow walk along the river. I just took it all in, being so grateful to have found this magical spot.

Nature has a way of changing us, I truly believe that. If you are ever feeling sad, or lonely, or just out of sorts (because we all have those days) maybe try getting yourself outside even if it’s just for a few minutes. The silence and beauty of being with nature often calms me down and helps me see the brighter side of life.

I would love to hear any thoughts you have about how nature affects you.

Enjoy Fall!

One thought on “The Beauty of Nature

  1. Pingback: The Beauty of Nature…. | Clarabelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,649 other followers