I'm Ready.

a blog by Christina Bradley

For Every Dream There is Resistance

Leave a comment

“Our greatest battle is to become ourselves in the face of adversity” –  Steven Pressfield

This afternoon I watched an episode of Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday which was an interview with Steven Pressfield who is the author of The War of Art. His book is about how to follow your dreams and be yourself even in the face of resistance. Their conversation was about how resistance is always present while reaching for your dreams. It is like yin and yang, light and dark.

However, many of us don’t realize the presence of resistance, we just push our dreams off because we feel uncomfortable. Pressfield and Oprah discuss that once we name that discomfort as resistance we can defeat it. Oprah said that “your will or desire HAS to be stronger than resistance” in order for you to move beyond and follow your bliss.

This episode particularly struck me today because lately I have been struggling with the idea of my future as many college students do. College is full of dos and don’ts; it is full of expectation. Expectations to gain skills and prepare yourself so that you can make a lot of money and find a good job. I wonder sometimes if I am doing the right things and if I’m doing enough. The unknown is a very scary place especially when you step outside the norm.

I want to have a happy life which is one of my reasons for writing this blog. Because of this dream, I have made choices this Fall that scare me. Changing my major, trying new things, and now looking forward to a future which is very vague. I now see that my discomfort is resistance and I also now notice that this resistance is natural when we take steps to follow our dreams and step outside the box. Last year I took classes and chose a major which would set me up for a very comfortable life. I have now made the decision to take a risk, change my major, and do pursue what I love… this is very scary.

I think that it is important for all of us to realize resistance will be there no matter what and we just have to deal with it head on. I am very sure that there will be many moments of failure and doubt in my life but as Steven Pressfield said in his interview, these are the moments that move us to the next level.

I would love to hear your comments about resistance and any advice you have about meeting this discomfort!

Let’s take some risks no matter how small they are!

Leave a Reply

